I, too, am America.

I, Too

BY LANGSTON HUGHES

I, too, sing America.

I am the darker brother.
They send me to eat in the kitchen
When company comes,
But I laugh,
And eat well,
And grow strong.

Tomorrow,
I’ll be at the table
When company comes.
Nobody’ll dare
Say to me,
“Eat in the kitchen,”
Then.

Besides,
They’ll see how beautiful I am
And be ashamed—

I, too, am America.

Inspired by Langston’s Hughe’s I, too.

I, too, am America.
By Miss V

I, too, have sung the national, our national anthem
In countless classrooms, auditoriums and grassy fields before a game
I’ve pledged allegiance to the same flag
Red, white, blue
And even though the one at home wears the same colors with 49 less stars
I, too, am America

Land of the free as long as you rest within thousands of laws
Home of the bravest modern day immigrant
Fearing to be torn from their family
I, too, fear mistreatment and profiling because I look like them
But I, too, am America

Greatest nation on Earth
We beat the world and come in first place for the most
Incarcerated in our land of the free
And our school babies sometimes miss lunch if that lunch fee is not paid
Texts books are filled with voices, foreign- we don’t identify with the stories

Frustrated as waves of youth
Graduate into a world they are unprepared to face
Yet, my passport still tells that world that
I, too, am America

And American cannot deny me

Thoughts?

