Letters of Gratitude

The story of Fela Kuti, Nigerian "Gangsta"

Ok, so I did not come up with the idea or phrase for this category of “Letters of Gratitude.” I actually heard about it on the radio station KKLA-FM I listen to on the way to work every morning. The hosts were talking about giving thanks on a frequent basis and moving away from listing our issues and complaining so much. We all complain a lot more than we probably think we do. We don’t realize that we do it because we aren’t trained to take notice of it. Try this tomorrow. From the moment you wake up, write down everything you complained about that day. EVERYTHING. That means that horrible driver in front of you, the fact that you have to wake up early and are dragging for work, ironing your work clothes, work itself throughout the day, the rush hour traffic on the way home, get my gist? We do it ALL THE TIME. So try documenting it for one day and you will see how much we allow ourselves to be negative with ourselves. It doesn’t even take another person “ruining” our day anymore, we end up doing so by the time we walk out the door by our attitude on the simple things.

I heard and this and thought, oh my. Even the small growls we make when something doesn’t go as planned counts as complaining. And so they went on to talk about these Letters of Gratitude and to be honest, I  don’t remember exactly what they were. A book, someone’s journal, not sure. But I did remember the phrase Letters of Gratitude and like every new blogger, I thought “That would be a great weekly post category for my blog!” And here we are.

Philippians 2:14 Do all things without complaining and disputing, 15: that you may become blameless and harmless, children of God without fault in the midst of a crooked and perverse generation, among whom you shine as lights in the world, 16: holding fast the word of life, so that I may rejoice in the day of Christ that I have not run in vain or labored in vain.

Now that we have some background on this section, thank you if you are still reading, I will go on to say my thanks for this week’s events and experiences. At first I thought, I have gone through so much lately and so much has gone wrong that I hope I can find something to write about every week. By Wednesday of this week, I was laughing out loud thanking God and saying that He is truly a comedian as my friend George says. So many blessings had poured in by only Wednesday that I was nervous to see what else good was going to happen.

I had the courage to talk to a patient about God and invite her to my church In His Presence after sensing a broken heart. I hugged her and told her to keep positive, good things are to come, don’t give up. This was an executive producer in the movie business that hadn’t had work for four years. With God’s strength, I pulled together the courage to talk to her and she left smiling, with her head up. That felt amazing. By Thursday, I had rallied my coworkers to go home and conjur up any clothing/articles they no longer were using to donate at my friend La’Joia’s organization Kingdom Minds Youth Development‘s first Annual Clothes drive. It was exciting to see on Friday that bags of clothes were brought in. By Friday, I had been given tickets to the Ahmanson Theatre to go watch Fela! with my coworkers and by Saturday night, I bumped into my teeny bopper years celeb crush Mario Lopez and got a cute pic.

So is this hard to do? NO. NOT AT ALL. It was very easy actually. At the end of the day, or in my case the week, you will find that we have so much more to be grateful for than the problems that are petty or even big but most of them get resolved anyway. So why focus on dead issues?

Focus on the things that will enhance your life. Breathe life into the moments that feel great, where you find yourself smiling and the rest starts to fade away. You won’t have time or room in your mind to think about issues.

‘Til next week’s Letters of Gratitude!

Miss V

Comments
2 Responses to “Letters of Gratitude”
  1. Audrey says:

    Well hello again, Miss V. thank you for giving me something so positive to look forward to every Sunday (reading your blog). Again, I agree as you mention that sometimes before we can even begin our day of work/school or important errands, negative thoughts and even laziness can sometimes surrounds us and bring us negative outcomes. When that happens we sometimes work harder in looking to blame others right away instead of hitting replay and observing our behavior first and appreciating our freedom and ability to accomplish things. I learned several years ago that many things in life are simple, we make them difficult by complaining and being lazy even before fulfilling any dailly tasks.

    Lets fulfill our tasks first before we begin to complain.
    Always give thanks to God for giving us the ability to fulfill every task, every goal, every passing day.

    Again Miss V. Thank you for another inspirational letter.

    Your always amazing 🙂

    A fan and loyal reader,
    Audrey

  2. Thank you again Audrey for your kind words. It’s comments like yours that will keep me writing and keep me excited about the whole process of having a blog. I did not want it to feel like another task I was taking on this year and my hope came true that it is now a place where I can go and write about my experiences while knowing that someone far away is reading and taking something from it.

    I’ll be putting time aside to write on sundays, thank you for following!

    -Miss V

Thoughts?

